Meet the Board

The Friends of S.P. Dinsmoor's Garden of Eden Board of Directors consists of passionate professionals, dedicated to the preservation and respectful promotion of both the Garden of Eden and Miller's Park visionary art environments.


John Hachmeister

John Hachmeister is an Associate Professor of Sculpture at the University of Kansas.  John joined the Board in 2011, after being a part of former Garden of Eden Inc., an entity formed to caretake the Garden from 1989 through 2010.


Erika Nelson

Erika Nelson is an independent artist and educator. When not on the road in search of vernacular architecture or immersive art sites, she writes articles for art and travel magazines, creates site-specific temporary art experiences, and acts as a creative catalyst for rural communities. Based in Lucas, Kansas, she has most recently been found on-site in rural Georgia as part of a folk art preservation team.  Erika joined the Board in 2011.


Leslie VonHolten

Leslie VonHolten is a program coordinator for Graduate Military Programs at the University of Kansas. She has degrees in art history and public administration, with a research focus on cultural program management. She is a founding member of the Percolator artspace in Lawrence and the former director of programs for the Kansas Humanities Council. Leslie joined the Board in 2015.

Joy Echer

Joy Echer serves as Associate General Council for Foot Locker, Inc., with extensive legal experience as an in-house corporate attorney. She brings her expertise to the Board in matters involving privacy, social media, and multi-channel marketing. 

Doug Hickman

A native of Lucas, born on the family farm 3 miles south of the Garden of Eden, Doug is a graduate of Lucas High School's class of 1963. He is the former President and Secretary of Lions Club; former President of Chamber of Commerce; Worshipful Master of Blue Hill Masonic Lodge in Lucas (closed in 2015); former first President and board member of Lucas Arts & Humanities Council, Inc.; former first Secretary and now President of Lucas Medical Foundation since 1976.

Lynn Schneider

Lynn Schneider serves as the Garden of Eden's site manager, caretaking the site and managing all day-to-day aspects.  She's been with the Garden of Eden since 1995.


Kate Meyer

Kate Meyer is the assistant curator of works on paper at the Spencer Museum of Art at the University of Kansas in Lawrence. She joined the Board in 2015. Meyer researched art related to the Dust Bowl for her PhD in American Art History and her ongoing research continues to emphasize art of this region. Kate is a Kansas native and enthusiast. 

Kelly Ludwig

As the Creative Director of Design at DEG, Kelly Ludwig brings design-thinking to every facet of the organization and to the Garden. She is mainstay in the Kansas City design community, as the President of AIGA-KC. She is obsessed with photographically documenting visionary environments across the country, particularly the Midwest.